Thoughts and Changes to the Site

In February of 2015, I set out with the goal of doing two short stories a month for twelve months, and with Petrichor, I was able to accomplish that goal. There were definitely a lot of challenges on the way, including a broken collar bone in October that had me writing at least one story one-handed.

But I did it! I accomplished the goal that I set out to, and I think as a whole, it’s made me a better writer.Not only that, but one of the stories, Phantom Limb, won first place in the Horror category of the Writer’s Digest’s Popular Fiction Award.

My original idea was to continue on doing two stories a month for the foreseeable future, but I don’t know that this is necessarily feasible. I don’t want to stop doing the short stories, but I will need time to work on other projects.

So, going forward, I’ll be doing one short story a month on the site. This will hopefully leave me more time to work on novels, and short stories that can be submitted to other publications.

In other words, I intend to be very busy.

For now, I have a whole lot of people to thank.

First and foremost, to my amazing editor Kat O’Farrell: You kept me motivated to finish this, and without your notes, none of these stories would be half as good as they turned out to be. You continue to inspire me every day.

To my parents, thank you for instilling in me a love of reading and for encouraging me as a writer.

To Adam Witt, thank you for inspiring this idea way back when, and for being an awesome co-writer on comics. Working with helped me learn to be a better writer.

To Travis Holyfield, thank you for giving me cool stories to draw back in the day. You have have the best ideas.

To Ron “AAlgar” Watt, thank you for sharing the links, for the discussions on ways to continue to promote this, and for the podcast that gave me the focus to finish this thing.

Finally, to the readers, thank you for sticking with me through this. I’m incredibly proud of the work that I’ve done, and every view of the page means a lot to me. Thank you for sharing links and providing feedback on stories. Hopefully you’ll stick with me in the future. If you haven’t already, please follow me on Twitter, which is the easiest way to get updates on the stories as they post.

 

 

Leave a Reply

